top of page

It will never work!


One of the archetypal core (or limiting) beliefs. I was aware of telling myself this recently when preparing to send out an email offering coaching within the NVC community and to people whom I've coached in the past. What was new this time is that I could see it as a thought which did not hold enough energy to stop me from doing it, in fact I was having so much fun creating it and learning a whole load of new skills that I couldn't stop myself. To break it down into more details there were sub-beliefs and stressful thoughts underlying this core belief eg I had recently coached an NVC certified trainer troubleshooting and visioning using minimums (more to come on that) and put out an email requesting that she write me a testimonial to accompany the email. The intention was to identify the benefit of using minimum amounts of time if people feel stuck around a certain issue and perhaps don't have the finances to pay for a full coaching session. I felt so excited about offering this sliding scale and yet I noticed that I had this thought after I made my request "she'll not have the time to do that for you, she's far too busy and it's probably not the kind of thing she finds valuable". Well the total opposite happened, she came back with this response "GREAT idea" and went on to offer me some other suggestions as how to enhance the offer and wrote me this testimonial "In 10-15mins Jayne helped me to feel inspired rather than dreading the task of redecorating a room in my house. She connected me to a dream (what do i see happening there? why does it matter to me? what will it give me?) and helped me discern a number of micro and bigger steps to get there. Next time I feel stuck around a particular project, I want to call on her for support". I made sure I took that in and did a little celebration YES dance. The next sticky thought was even around including my own coach Francois in this email telling myself things like "he'll probably get annoyed that I'm sending something so silly and he'll be wondering about my integrity as a coach". Again I was delighted by the response he sent "Nice! I like it! Good luck with this! Shivers of excitement with that one. I'm so excited and even more motivated to share this work. In fact I had a conversation with another certified trainer who is now an apprentice assessor for certification and spoke with her about becoming a certified NVC trainer. I was holding back with this, again because of limiting beliefs and actually needing more information that I was too afraid to ask for because the belief was keeping my foot on the break. I'm now taking steps towards becoming a certified trainer and delighted to be part of this community of people who enrich my life and for whom I can contribute in return. This is the world I choose to live in. The one were I don't have limitations and if I can see them then I have tools to dissolve them and live my full potential.

bottom of page